Skip to Content

Print Friendly

College NEWS

Commerce Day

14th September 2017

The Commerce Day commenced in the Peto Memorial Hall on 14th September 2017 at 11:30a.m. The Principal, the Rev.N.J.Gnanaponrajah, Vice Patrons, Mr.S.P.Thayaparan & Mr.S.Richikesan, members of the Commerce Union, Vice Principals, Mr.V.S.B.Thuseetharan & Mr.A.H.Gnanarajan and the Sectional Head, Mr.T.Nathakumaran accompanied the Chief Guest, Dr.S.Sivesan, Senior Lecturer, Department of Marketing, Faculty of Management Studies and Commerce, University of Jaffna to the venue. After the lighting of the oil lamp and singing of the College Hymn, a brief Welcome Speech was delivered by the President, J.Joshuva.

Next was the Vice Patron’s Address by Mr.S.P.Thayaparan. He expressed his extreme gratitude to the Principal and the sectional heads for their guidance and encouragement at all times. He also thanked the Committee for the hard work they did to make Commerce Day a success.

The next event was a Quiz Competition between Chundikuli Girls’ College and St. John’s College. Mr. S.Richikesan fired one question after another. After a close fight, St. John’s emerged winners.

Following the Quiz, the Chief Guest was called on stage where the Principal gave away a Memento on behalf the School. The memento was presented in recognition of his services and as a mark of reminder of his visit to the College as Chief Guest.

The event to follow was perhaps the most awaited – the Awards Ceremony. Numerous competitions including Essay Writing and Speeches had been organized in the days leading to the Commerce Day. Students who won places were called on stage where they received recognition for their efforts and talents.

A Debate titled, ‘Are the new approaches in Commerce and Industry necessary or not?’ followed the distribution of certificates. The teams arguing for and against the topic of the debate were both from St. John’s. They debated with a lot of enthusiasm - each team trying to counter the other’s argument while putting forth their own. The team that was in favour of developments won. However the decision was not arrived at easily. It took a moment of deliberation to decide who the winners were.

Then the Vote of Thanks was proposed by the Secretary, J.J.Priyatharshan. The program came to an end with the College Song.






back to top
Print Friendly

College NEWS